Laws Regarding Stun Guns in South Dakota
The state of South Dakota allows individuals to own stun guns in order for them to defend themselves without the need to first obtain a permit or license to carry the device in the first place. However, while these may seem to be relaxed laws, there are other laws in place that produce stiff penalties for those who employ stun guns to harm others.
In South Dakota it is legal for a person to purchase a stun gun provided that they are over the age of 18 and can be purchased from a number of locations including sporting goods stores that provide hunting equipment, gun shops and supermarkets. According to the website for the South Dakota legislature, a stun gun is defined “as any battery powered electric device that employs pulse electricity with little to no amperage…”
It is important to note, however, that using a stun gun to commit a crime is considered a class 5 felony in South Dakota on the first offense. This crime is punishable by up to five years in a state penitentiary and comes with a $10,000 fine. Additional convictions using a stun gun to commit a crime is considered a class 3 felony, which carries a punishment of up to 15 years in a state penitentiary and a fine of up to $30,000.